All Collections
Projects
Participants
Deactivating and deleting participants
Deactivating and deleting participants

Learn the difference between deactivating and deleting participants and groups, and how to retrieve access depending on the chosen option

Updated this week

Using an older version of VDR? This article covers features and functionality for the latest version of our VDR. If you're using an older version, please refer to Disabling or deleting users and groups [old VDR] for relevant information.

Deactivating participants

To deactivate participants, select them in the list and click Deactivate on the top panel, or right-click on any of the selected participants and select the corresponding option.

You can re-activate participants at any time by clicking Activate on the same panel, or by right-clicking on the selected participants.

Deleting participants

To delete participants, select them in the list and click Delete, or select this option in the context menu of the target users.

⚠️ User deletion is irreversible. To revert access to your project, deleted participants must be re-invited.

Difference between deactivating and deleting

Either you deactivate or delete participants, they will no longer be able to access your project or open previously downloaded encrypted files.

Deactivated participants are still present in the project and can be activated back in one click at any time.

Deleted participants will no longer be listed among participants. To give their access back, it will be required to invite them anew and re-create groups.

Hence, if you'd like to temporarily revoke access, it is recommended to deactivate participants instead of deleting.

Did this answer your question?